Cub girls place fourth at Saydel Invite; MacVey leads Nevada boys

Joe Randleman, Sports Writer

DES MOINES - The Nevada cross country teams got several runners some varsity experience at the Saydel Invitational to close out the regular season Oct. 13 at Saydel High School in Des Moines.

The Cubs rested their entire boys’ varsity team, as well as two top girls’ runners. The girls still went on to place fourth out of eight teams and the boys came in seventh.

In the girls’ race Nevada scored 118 points. North Polk — the No. 15 3A team — easily won with 19 points, Ballard — the No. 6 3A squad — took second despite resting several of its varsity runners with 77 points and Prairie City-Monroe came in third with a score of 88.

The Nevada girls were without lead runner Kaylee Kruschwitz, along with another regular top-three runner in Mady Farmer. Megan Gilchrist stepped up to lead the Nevada girls with a 19th-place 5-kilometer time of 22 minutes, 53.58 seconds.

Ryanne Barker came in 22nd at 23:09.33, Caitlyn Sharp took 24th in 23:22.27 and Eliana Hornbuckle placed 36th in 24:02.57. Nicole Dewell was the final scored Cub runner with a 40th-place time of 24:28.59.

Joanna Ferguson took 45th in 24:40.79 and Kaylee Kruse was 61st in 25:46.24 to round out the varsity competition for the Cub girls.

North Polk’s Amelia Lesher, Sophie Schaffer and Sophie Blanchard ran the three fastest individual times in the girls’ race at 20:13.48, 20:45.19 and 20:45.78 respectively.

In the boys’ race, Nevada put up 172 points. Carlisle — the No. 10 3A team — won with 39 points and North Polk came in second with a score of 55.

Conner MacVey ran a 5-kilometer time of 18:29.06 to place 17th as the lead runner for the Nevada boys. Calvin Mwirigi took 36th in 19:04.43, Rodrigo Perez was 38th in 19:08.16, Connor Hines placed 48th in 19:46.79 and Dean Check ended up 50th in 19:55.51 as the other runners to score for Nevada.

Jordan Jones ran a 90th-place time of 21:15.89 and Cale Dumbaugh took 103rd in 21:51.14 as the other varsity competitors for the Nevada boys.

PCM’s Chris Ellens won the boys’ individual title in 16:42.60. Pella Christian’s Grant Dunsbergen placed second in 16:55.12.

Final team scores

Girls: 1. North Polk 19 points, 2. Ballard 77, 3. PCM 88, 4. Nevada 118, 5. Greene County 119, 6. Perry 151, 7. Carlisle 171, 8. Saydel 203.

Boys: 1. Carlisle 39, 2. North Polk 55, 3. Saydel 96, 4. Ballard 117, 5. Pella Christian 124, 6. Ankeny Christian 169, 7. Nevada 172, 8. PCM 204, 9. Perry 220.

Individual results (5-kilometer) - Nevada

Girls: 19. Megan Gilchrist, 22:53.58; 22. Ryanne Barker, 23:09.33; 24. Caitlyn Sharp, 23:22.27; 36. Eliana Hornbuckle, 24:02.57; 40. Nicole Dewell, 24:28.59; 45. Joanna Ferguson, 24:40.79; 61. Kaylee Kruse, 25:46.24.

Boys: 17. Conner MacVey, 18:29.06; 36. Calvin Mwirigi, 19:04.43; 38. Rodrigo Perez, 19:08.16; 48. Connor Hines, 19:46.79; 50. Dean Check, 19:55.51; 90. Jordan Jones, 21:15.89; 103. Cale Dumbaugh, 21:51.14.