What we learned from how the Nevada wrestling team did over the weekend: Weber wins another title

Joe Randleman
Ames Tribune
Kaden Weber

The Nevada wrestling team crowned one champion at the Knoxville Invitational and went 0-2 in a double-dual at the Nevada High School Field House Friday.

Nevada finished sixth as a team at Knoxville Saturday with 59 points. The Southeast Polk JV team won with 215 points, Knoxville was second with 192, North Polk third with 168, Moravia fourth with 125 and Fairfield fifth with 86.

The Cubs suffered a 57-21 loss to Prairie City-Monroe and a 72-5 setback to West Marshall in their home double-dual Friday. The two losses put Nevada at 0-3 in dual meet competition on the season.

Here is what we learned from Nevada's weekend of wrestling: 

Weber keeps dominating

Nevada's Kaden Weber continued the hot start to his sophomore year by winning his second consecutive tournament championship at Knoxville. 

Weber took first at 106 pounds with a 3-0 record. He pinned Evan Huberty of the Southeast Polk JV team in 1:56 and Knoxville's Dane Gullion in 31 seconds and added a 10-2 victory by major decision over Moravia's Dalton Ervin.

The three victories at Knoxville put Weber at 7-0 on the season.

Weber also picked up two victories at the home double-dual meet. He pinned PCM's Alex Courtney in 1:16 and went up to 113 against West Marshall's Landin Eggers and won by technical fall, 17-2.

Two other Cubs get a win at Knoxville

Mackenzie Arends and Nicholas Lauritzen each picked up one victory on the mat at the Knoxville Invitational.

Arends wrestled at 182 and placed fourth. She went 1-4, winning her first match over Moravia's Cameron Nicoletto by major decision, 14-4.

Lauritzen finished fourth at 285. He also went 1-4, winning his final match over Moravia's Peyton Robinson by fall in 24 seconds.

In its dual with PCM Friday Nevada received victories from Christian Decoske at 132, Holden Fry at 182 and Kobe Thipasouk at 220. Decoske scored an exciting 13-12 win over the Mustangs' Sawyer Bouwkamp, Fry pinned William Vanderpool in 1:55 and Thipasouk won by fall over Kaiden Valcore in 56 seconds.