Two Royals named all-ISC in baseball

Joe Randleman Staff Writer
Matthew Hill

Two members of the Colo-Nesco baseball team were named all-Iowa Star Conference by the conference coaches in 2017.

Junior first baseman/pitcher Matthew Hill and junior infielder/pitcher Sean Cutler were both honored from Colo-Nesco.

Hill was a second-team pick.

Hill hit .481 with a .557 on-base percentage, .577 slugging average, five doubles, five steals, 16 runs and five RBI in conference games. He made 71 putouts and seven assists in the field and had a 6.33 earned run average with 13 strikeouts and 19 walks in 21 innings pitching.

Don Bosco’s Lewis Havel and Dylan Rottinghaus; Clarksville’s Dakota Garretson and Matt Nelson; Riceville’s Ben Swancut, Tyler Christiansen and Kyler Bauer; GMG’s Aaron Fleming; Janesville’s Bryce Destival and Dunkerton’s Jackson Hoeft made up the rest of the all-ISC second team.

Cutler was named all-ISC honorable mention.

In ISC games Cutler hit .415 with a .475 OBP, .491 SA, four doubles, eight runs and a team-high 19 RBI. He had nine strikeouts and 19 walks in 18 ⅓ innings and delivered 15 putouts, 12 assists and just four errors defensively.

The all-ISC first team was made up of: Don Bosco’s Bryce Schares, Logan Lutgen, Austin Miller, Caleb Rigdon and Trevor Brown; North Tama’s Will Early, Cael Kopriva, Cameron Hoeg and Joe Early; Tripoli’s Zach Hereid; CAL’s Kainan Braun and Nate Rapp; Riceville’s Tommy Bauer and GMG’s Darrin Anderson. Schares, Will Early, Koprvia, Lutgen, Miller, Hereid and Braun were all unanimous choices.

All-Iowa Star Conference baseball teams

First team: P - Bryce Schares (So.)*, Don Bosco; Will Early (Sr.)*, North Tama. C - Cael Kopriva (Sr.)*, North Tama. IF - Logan Lutgen (Jr.)*, Don Bosco; Austin Miller (Sr.)*, Don Bosco; Cameron Hoeg (Sr.), North Tama; Joe Early (Sr.), North Tama; Zach Hereid (Jr.)*, Tripoli. OF - Kainan Braun (Sr.)*, CAL; Tommy Bauer (Sr.), Riceville; Darrin Anderson (Sr.), GMG; Caleb Rigdon (Sr.), Don Bosco. UTIL - Trevor Brown (Jr.), Don Bosco; Nate Rapp (So.), CAL.

Second team: P - Lewis Havel (Fr.), Don Bosco; Dakota Garretson (Sr.), Clarksville. C - Matt Nelson (Sr.), Clarksville. IF - Matthew Hill (Jr.), Colo-Nesco; Ben Swancut (Sr.), Riceville; Aaron Fleming (So.), GMG; Bryce Destival (Jr.), Janesville. OF - Tyler Christiansen (Sr.), Riceville; Dylan Rottinghaus (Jr.), Don Bosco; Jackson Hoeft (Jr.), Dunkerton. UTIL - Kyler Bauer (Sr.), Riceville.

Honorable mention: Cael Even (So.), North Tama; Brock Guerrero (Jr.), CAL; Riley Cramer (Sr.), Clarksville; Spencer Hoff (So.), Janesville; Brad Rottinghaus (Sr.), Dunkerton; Zach Johnson (Jr.), Tripoli; Sean Cutler (Jr.), Colo-Nesco; Kendall Becker (So.), Dunkerton; John Miller (Jr.), Riceville; Andrew Thurston (Sr.), GMG.

*Denotes unanimous selection.

Final ISC standings

Don Bosco 17-0

North Tama 13-2

Clarksville 11-7

GMG 9-9

Tripoli 9-9

Riceville 8-9-1

CAL 7-11

Colo-Nesco 5-12-1

Janesville 4-12

Dunkerton 3-15