Three Cubs make all-state in volleyball

Joe Randleman
Three Cubs make all-state in volleyball

Three members of the Nevada volleyball team were given all-state honors after leading the Cubs to the first state championship in school history in 2015.

Senior middle hitter Kati Cassabaum and junior outside hitter Abby Stephenson were named to the Class 3A first team by the Iowa Girls Coaches Association. Senior outside hitter Erin Francis landed on the IGCA second team.

Cassabaum - a UNI signee - totaled 323 kills and 96 blocks anchoring Nevada in the middle. Stephenson complemented Cassabaum on the outside with 292 kills and 35 blocks and she was also impressive in the back row with 432 digs.

The rest of the 3A first team was made up of: West Liberty seniors Cassedi Simon and Hailey Daufeldt; Sioux Center junior Jessica Harald; Sergeant Bluff-Luton senior Brittni Olson and Mount Vernon junior Libby Ryan. Simon was named 3A Player of the Year by the IGCA.

Francis ended up with 254 kills, including a 3A-leading 38 kills at the state tournament. She also had 37 blocks and was a strong force in the back row with 226 digs.

Joining Francis on the IGCA 3A second team were: Union junior Megan Hudson; Mount Vernon junior Kaitlyn Volesky; North Polk junior Hannah Becker; Red Oak senior Angela Mahoney; Kuemper Catholic senior Paige Overmohle and Davenport Assumption senior Mary Rolf.

Nevada head coach Will Baumann was named Coach of the Year in 3A by the IGCA. Baumann has now coached six state champions, after winning five at Tripoli in 1A.