Royals’ Clatt named all-state in football

Joe Randleman
Royals’ Clatt named all-state in football

Colo-Nesco had one player receive all-state honors in 8-man football by the Iowa Newspaper Association in 2015.

Senior kicker Tanner Clatt was named the 8-man first-team kicker by the INA. Clatt made 27 of 30 extra points and three field goals with a long of 42 yards to help Colo-Nesco go 9-3 and reach the state playoff quarterfinals for the first time in school history.

Joining Clatt on the INA 8-man first team were: senior receiver Jacob Spieler, senior offensive lineman Jacob Simonsen and senior quarterback Ben Specht of Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn; senior receiver Jack Thode and senior running back Nick Nelson of Janesville; senior offensive lineman Dalton Smith, senior linebacker Damian Sawvel and senior utility pick Spencer Bruess of Don Bosco; senior offensive lineman Mason Scheidegger, senior running back Cole Wise and senior defensive back Connor Wolterman of Newell-Fonda; senior running back Christopher Brown and senior defensive lineman Noah Borkowski of Glidden-Ralston; senior utility pick Michael Girres of Graettinger-Terril; junior defensive lineman Kenny Kriegel of H-L-V; senior defensive lineman Spencer Brown of Lenox; senior linebacker Terrell Grant of Meskwaki; junior linebacker Drew Buckholdt of Exira-Elk Horn-Kimballton; senior defensive back Mason Olson of Northwood-Kensett and senior punter Drew Ticknor of CAM.

Specht was named captain of the all-8-man team, accounting for 3,428 total yards and 66 total touchdowns.