Seven Cubs make all-HOIC in VB

Joe RandlemanStaff Writer
Seven Cubs make all-HOIC in VB

Seven members of the Nevada volleyball team were given all-Heart of Iowa Conference recognition in 2015.

Kati Cassabaum, Abby Stephenson, Erin Francis, Amaris Hornbuckle, Chloe Davis, Megan Anderson and Abby Bremer were all honored from Nevada. All seven players had a big role in Nevada winning the HOIC title with a perfect 8-0 record, then going on to claim the Class 3A state championship.

Cassabaum and Stephenson were both named to the all-HOIC first team. Cassabaum was one of three unanimous selections, along with North Polk’s Hannah Becker and South Hamilton’s Ady Wintermote.

Cassabaum totaled 323 kills and 96 blocks in 112 sets on the season. Stephenson finished with 290 kills, 432 digs, 35 blocks and 40 aces.

The rest of the all-HOIC first team was made up of Gilbert’s Mia Davis, Taylor Forth and Bree Richard; Becker; Roland-Story’s Alexa Whipple; Wintermote and South Hamilton’s Anna Moss.

Francis, Hornbuckle and Davis were named to the all-HOIC second team. They were joined by Collins-Maxwell-Baxter’s Bridget Hurley, Gilbert’s Inga Rotto, Greene County’s Nadia Fisher, North Polk’s Courtney Bonewitz and Rebecca Rimathe and South Hamilton’s Alyssa Hegland.

Francis recorded 254 kills, 225 digs, 37 blocks and 52 aces on the season. Hornbuckle produced 135 kills and 62 aces and Davis came through with 330 digs and 47 aces.

Anderson and Bremer both made all-HOIC honorable mention. Anderson recorded 124 digs and Bremer delivered 110 kills and 43 blocks.

All-HOIC volleyball teams

First team: Mia Davis (Sr.), Gilbert; Taylor Forth (Jr.), Gilbert; Bree Richard (So.), Gilbert; Kati Cassabaum (Sr.)*, Nevada; Abby Stephenson (Jr.), Nevada; Hannah Becker (Jr.)*, North Polk; Alexa Whipple (Sr.), Roland-Story; Ady Wintermote (Jr.)*, South Hamilton; Anna Moss (So.), South Hamilton.

Second team: Bridget Hurley (Sr.), CMB; Inga Rotto (So.), Gilbert; Nadia Fisher (Jr.), Greene County; Erin Francis (Sr.), Nevada; Amaris Hornbuckle (Sr.), Nevada; Chloe Davis (Jr.), Nevada; Courtney Bonewitz (Jr.), North Polk; Rebecca Rimathe (Jr.), North Polk; Alyssa Hegland (Sr.), South Hamilton.

Honorable mention: Payge Jurgens (Sr.), CMB; Jordynn Wesselink (So.), CMB: Megan Goodhue (So.), Gilbert; Trinity Jackson (Fr.), Gilbert; Hannah Promes (Jr.), Greene County; Megan Durbin (So.), Greene County; Megan Anderson (Sr.), Nevada; Abby Bremer (Sr.), Nevada; Gracie Harmeyer (Jr.), North Polk; Riley Murphy (Jr.), North Polk; Ashley Van Gorp (Sr.), PCM; Kayla Jennings (Jr.), PCM; Chelsey Tinken (Sr.), Roland-Story; Melanie Gustafson (Sr.), Saydel; Hannah Bowman (So.), Saydel; Alissa Moss (Jr.), South Hamilton; Chloe Barkema (So.), South Hamilton.

Special mention: Kelsey Polaski (Sr.), Roland-Story.

*Denotes unanimous selection