Who's running in Iowa's June 7 primary election? Here's what voters need to know

Katie Akin
Des Moines Register

From a slate of Democrats vying for a U.S. Senate seat to crowded statehouse races around the Des Moines metro, Tuesday's primary election will set the stage for a competitive general election in November.

The June 7 primary will decide which candidates will appear on the November 8 ballot. 

Des Moines Register reporters have been tracking the candidates for months, attending events and interviewing political hopefuls. If you're just now tuning into the races — we've got you covered.

How to vote in Iowa's 2022 primary election

Early voting for the June 7 primary began on May 18 and will continue through Monday, June 6. It's too late to request an absentee ballot by mail, but voters may vote early in-person. Check with your county auditor for more details on polling locations and hours.

More:How to vote early in Iowa's 2022 primary elections from registration to voting locations

On Election Day, polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Voters can find their polling locations through the Iowa Secretary of State's website

More: Iowa election results from Tuesday primaries

Iowans must be registered with a political party to participate in the primary election. Eligible Iowans can register to vote online, by mail or at the polls on Election Day.

Remember to bring a form of identification, like a driver's license, passport or voter identification card. Find a complete list of acceptable forms of ID at the Secretary of State's website.

More:Here's how to vote on Election Day in Iowa's primary for U.S. Senate, Congress, state legislature

U.S. Senate

U.S. Sen. Chuck Grassley is running for re-election — his eighth term in office, if he wins. He faces one challenger from within his own party: Iowa Sen. Jim Carlin of Sioux City.

Three Democrats have lined up for the seat, including former U.S. Rep. Abby Finkenauer and retired Navy Adm. Mike Franken.

Statewide races

Several statewide races have no primaries this year. Just one Democrat, Deidre DeJear, will take on incumbent Gov. Kim Reynolds in the fall. On the other side of the aisle, Republican Brenna Bird is the only one challenging Democratic Attorney General Tom Miller, and state Sen. Roby Smith, R-Davenport, is running unopposed against Treasurer Michael Fitzgerald, a Democrat.

Other races will have party matches for primary voters. Former state Rep. Mary Ann Hanusa and former Alcoholic Beverage Division comptroller Todd Halbur are competing for the Republican nomination for auditor. Democrat Rob Sand is running for re-election to the auditor's office.

More:Here's how the Republicans running for Iowa state auditor plan to be your watchdog

Two Democrats are running for Secretary of State, an office currently held by Republican Paul Pate.

U.S. House — 3rd Congressional District

Three Republicans have lined up to challenge Democratic incumbent U.S. Rep. Cindy Axne in the 3rd District. The district includes Polk County and extends to the west and south

Des Moines metro races

Many Iowa House and Senate races around Des Moines will not be contested in the primary. But voters in some districts will have a slate of candidates to choose from, like the six-candidate Democratic primary in House District 36.

Other districts have been the subject of political intrigue, as Gov. Kim Reynolds endorsed primary challengers to incumbent Republican lawmakers. 

More:Iowans will vote in new congressional, legislative districts this year. Here's how to find yours.

Looking to learn more about local races? We sent a survey to primary candidates around the metro. Here's what they told us:

Polk County races 

Polk County residents will vote in two contested primaries for Polk County officials: attorney and treasurer.

Katie Akin is a politics reporter for the Register. Reach her at kakin@registermedia.com or at 410-340-3440. Follow her on Twitter at @katie_akin.