ELDORA – The Nevada boys’ cross country team had a great showing and the Nevada girls and Colo-Nesco boys turned in quality individual outings at the South Hardin Invitational Saturday in Eldora.

The Nevada boys had strong pack running to finish second out of 10 scored teams with 92 points. East Marshall, the No. 5 team in Class 2A, won with 50 points and BCLUW was third with a score of 110.

Lucas Markey placed in the top 10 as the lead individual runner for the Nevada boys. The Cubs then had four more runners finish in the top 30, including two more top-20 performances.

Markey ran the boys’ 5-kilometer course in 18 minutes, 29 second to finish right at 10th place. South Hardin’s Tim Rose was the boys’ individual champion with a time of 17:36 and East Marshall’s Nick Meling took second in 17:45.

Erik Tanner and Connor MacVey were neck-and-neck in 17th and 18th place for Nevada as they both crossed the finish line in 18:53. Zach Hansen ran a 22nd-place time of 19 minutes flat and Duncan Westphal finished in 19:20 to place 28th as the final scored Cub runner.

Colo-Nesco finished ninth in the boys’ competition with 222 points. The Royals received two strong individual outings out of sophomores Jordan Combes and Steven Cutler.

Combes came in right behind Markey in 11th place overall. He crossed the finish line in 18:37. Cutler finished just ahead of Westphal in 27th place as he completed the race in 19:11.

Kyle Miller, Ashton Graddick and Caleb Vaughn placed 62nd, 69th and 70th as the other runners for the Royal boys.

In the girls’ race Nevada took fifth out of 12 scored teams with 124 points and Colo-Nesco was last with a score of 323. South Hardin won the girls’ meet with 68 points and Iowa Falls-Alden was a distant second with 102 points.

Caitlin Dewell placed in the top 10 and Emily Dittmer just missed that mark for Nevada. Dewell ran a 4-kilometer time of 16:09 to place eighth and Dittmer came in 11th at 16:16.

Elli Cassabaum turned in a top-20 performance as the Nevada girls’ third runner. Cassabaum also ran a time under 17 minutes as she crossed the finish line in 16:53.

Nicole Dewell and Caroline Goecke were the other runners to pick up points for the Cub girls. Nicole took 33rd in 17:34 and Goecke came in 54th at 18:42.

Freshman Grace Stalzer was the top runner for the Colo-Nesco girls. Stalzer crossed the finish line in 19:02 to place 61st.

Angela Brinkman was close behind Stalzer for the Royals with a 64th-place time of 19:14 and Stephanie Norris took 67th in 19:33. Leah Vincent ran a 72nd-place time of 20:32 and Caitlin Clark ran a time of 21 minutes flat to place 74th for the Royal girls.

Eagle Grove’s Tiffany Christensen was the girls’ individual champion with a time of 14:55. North Tama’s Abi Watson took second in 15:22.

Final team scores

Girls: 1. South Hardin 68 points, 2. Iowa Falls-Alden 102, 3. East Marshall 114, 4. Webster City 123, 5. Nevada 124, 6. South Tama 163, 7. North Tama 165, 8. CMB 167, 9. Eagle Grove 172, 10. BCLUW 181, 11. Colfax-Mingo 253, 12. Colo-Nesco 323.

Boys: 1. East Marshall 50, 2. Nevada 92, 3. BCLUW 110, 4. Webster City 123, 5. South Tama 125, 6. Iowa Falls-Alden 126, 7. South Hardin 146, 8. CMB 202, 9. Colo-Nesco 222, 10. Colfax-Mingo 273.

Individual results – Colo-Nesco and Nevada

Girls (4-kilometer): 8. Caitlin Dewell (N), 16:09; 11. Emily Dittmer (N), 16:16; 19. Elli Cassabaum (N), 16:53; 33. Nicole Dewell (N), 17:34; 54. Caroline Goecke (N), 18:42; 58. Emily Haywood (N), 18:55; 61. Grace Stalzer (C-N), 19:02; 64. Angela Brinkman (C-N), 19:14; 67. Stephanie Norris (C-N), 19:33; 68. Erin Sellberg (N), 20:01; 72. Leah Vincent (C-N), 20:32; 74. Caitlin Clark (C-N), 21:00.

Boys (5-kilometer): 10. Lucas Markey (N), 18:29; 11. Jordan Combes (C-N), 18:37; 17. Erik Tanner (N), 18:53; 18. Connor MacVey (N), 18:53; 22. Zach Hansen (N), 19:00; 27. Steven Cutler (C-N), 19:11; 28. Duncan Westphal (N), 19:20; 36. Caden Trygstad (N), 19:39; 37. Drew Barker (N), 19:41; 62. Kyle Miller (C-N), 23:40; 69. Ashton Graddick (C-N), 26:46; 70. Caleb Vaughn (C-N), 26:52.