The Colo-NESCO softball team had five players given all-Iowa Star Conference South Division recognition in 2019.

Rylee Purvis, Faith Vincent, Lauryn Hill, McKenzie Niemeyer and Callie Kohlwes were all honored by the conference coaches after helping the Royals place third in the South Division with a 7-7 record.

Purvis and Vincent both made the ISC South Division first team.

Purvis hit .302 with a .535 slugging average, six doubles, two triples, 10 runs and 13 RBIs in conference play. She also was 3-4 with a 3.87 ERA, 38 strikeouts and 14 walks in 47 innings on the mound, and made 24 assists and 12 putouts against two errors in the field.

Vincent had an incredible final season at the plate, hitting .488 with a .563 on-base percentage, .634 slugging average, four doubles, one triple and nine runs and RBIs apiece in conference play. In the outfield, she made 10 putouts with no errors.

The rest of the South Division first team was made up of Collins-Maxwell’s Mikayla Houge, Hannah Caple, Alexis Houge and Ella Kahler; Baxter’s McKenzie Eslinger, Madison Pierce and Holly Jessen and North Tama’s Chloe Feisel and Carissa Calderwood. Mikayla Houge was named the South Division Player of the Year and Collins-Maxwell head coach Troy Houge was tabbed as Coach of the Year.

Hill and Niemeyer landed on the South Division second team.

Hill hit .250 with nine runs and RBIs apiece plus seven steals against ISC opposition. At third base, she made 32 assists and nine putouts with only two errors.

Niemeyer posted a .205 average with a .367 OBP, two doubles, two home runs, 12 runs and six RBIs. She made 11 putouts and six assists, splitting time in the outfield and at shortstop.

The other South Division second-team selections were: Collins-Maxwell’s Reagan Franzen, Emma Kahler and Trinity Stover; Baxter’s Sydney Schmidt and Kaitlyn Headlee; GMG’s Zoe Duncan and Kelsey Vaverka and North Tama’s Rylee McLean.

Kohlwes was named all-ISC South Division honorable mention as an eighth-grader. She went 4-3 with a 4.74 ERA, 27 strikeouts and 19 walks in 34 innings, and hit .385 with two doubles, 10 runs and five RBIs in ISC games.

The North Division first team consisted of: Clarksville’s Kori Wedeking, Cheyenne Behrends, Janet Borchardt and Ainsley Lovrien; Janesville’s Grace Hovenga, Naomi Hovenga, Julia Meister and Bailey Hoff; Don Bosco’s Caelor Yoder and Ashley Grapp and Riceville’s Josie Gansen. The second team was made up of: Clarksville’s Cailyn Hardy and Bailey Meyers; Janesville’s Pyper McCarville and Kennedy Eastman; Don Bosco’s Kylie McMahon, Jenna Brown, Kaylee Peters and Kennedi Purdy and Riceville’s Abby Marr.

Wedeking was the North Division Player of the year. Clarksville head coach Katie Wedeking was the Coach of the Year.

Final ISC standings

North Division

Clarksville 14-1

Janesville 12-2

Don Bosco 10-5

Riceville 5-10

Dunkerton 2-13

Tripoli 2-13

South Division

Collins-Maxwell 13-0

Baxter 9-5

Colo-NESCO 7-7

North Tama 4-10

GMG 1-13