TAMA - The Colo-NESCO track teams each won an event at the Iowa Star Conference coed track meet May 2 at Meskwaki Settlement School in Tama.

The Spartan boys won the shuttle hurdle relay and placed sixth out of 13 teams with 67 points. Don Bosco won the boys’ team championship with 107.5 points, Dunkerton was a close second with 104 points and Baxter scored 85.5 points to place third.

Jack McKinney, Luke Hill, Kelly Gray and Devin Reed ran the shuttle hurdle in one minute, 4.73 seconds. The Royal team beat out North Tama’s 1:06.07 for first.

In the 4 X 800-meter relay Ethan Wilson, Brighton Clatt, Chevy Dunlap and Ryan Wonders gave the Royal boys a silver medal in 9:08.05. Baxter won in 8:53.31.

McKinney placed second in the high jump and fourth in the long jump and Tanner Ingle was fifth in both the high jump and discus.

McKinney jumped five feet, eight inches and Ingle 5-4 in the high jump. Clarksville’s Ethan Schmidt easily won the event with a jump of 6-4.

In the long jump, McKinney peaked with a distance of 18-9. Dunkerton’s Brady Stone won with a leap of 20-6.5.

Ingle’s best throw in the discus was 111-5. Baxter’s Will Clapper took first with a distance of 134-4.

Reed placed third and Gray seventh in the 110 high hurdles with respective times of :15.85 and :17.62. Tripoli’s Alex Nation and Collins-Maxwell’s Brett Livesay were the first two to finish the race in :15.61 and :15.66 respectively.

Dunlap ended up seventh in the 800 after crossing the finish line in 2:18.14. Brandon Roberts, Trevor Burg, Jacob Reischauer and Andrew Tschantz placed fourth in the distance medley after running a 4:07.24.

Wilson, Clatt, McKinney and Hill ran a 1:4.87 in the 4 X 200 to take fifth. Clatt, Hill, Reischauer and Tschantz were also fifth in the 4 X 400 with a 3:51.95 showing.

Reischauer, Wilson, Gray and Reed ran a sixth-place time of :47.75 in the 4 X 100. The Royal sprint medley team of Reed, Wilson, Gray and Reischauer took seventh in 1:44.24.

The Colo-NESCO girls scored 22 points to place 10th. Collins-Maxwell ran away with the girls’ team title after scoring 136.5 points, and Dunkerton was second with a score of 96.

Lauryn Hill gave the Royal girls a conference champion in the high jump. Hill jumped 5-2 to beat Clarksville’s Emma Poppe by four inches for the gold.

Hannah Jamison took seventh in the 3,000 for the Royal girls after completing the race in 14:23.37. Clarksville’s Kori Wedeking won with a time of 11:23.17.

Faith Vincent, Jane Caltrider and McKenzie Niemeyer joined Hill in running fifth-place times of :56.63 and 1:58.58 in the 4 X 100 and 4 X 200 relays respectively. Collins-Maxwell won the 4 X 100 in :52.37 and Tripoli took first in the 4 X 200 with a 1:50.63 showing.

Emma Wilson, Emma Cerka, Ema Thompson and Mea Skinner finished seventh in the 4 X 800 for the Colo-NESCO girls with a time of 14:27.73.

Final team scores

Girls: 1. Collins-Maxwell 136.5 points, 2. Dunkerton 96, 3. Clarksville 94, 4. Janesville 71, 5. Tripoli 64, 6. Riceville 56, 7. North Tama 53.5, 8. Baxter 49, 9. Don Bosco 32, 10. Colo-NESCO 22, 11. Valley Lutheran 21, 12. GMG 20, 13. Meskwaki 13.

Boys: 1. Don Bosco 107.5, 2. Dunkerton 104, 3. Baxter 85.5, 4. North Tama 83, 5. Clarksville 69.5, 6. Colo-NESCO 67, 7. GMG 59.5, 8. Tripoli 57, 9. Collins-Maxwell 35, 10. Valley Lutheran 24, 11. Janesville 23, 12. Meskwaki 17, 13. Riceville 9.