STATE CENTER — The Colo-NESCO boys’ track team totaled seven medals and the Royal girls placed fourth in two relays at the West Marshall Coed Invitational April 25 in State Center.

The Colo-NESCO boys won one event, took second twice and third four times, racking up 72 points to place fifth out of eight teams — coming in just one point behind Baxter for fourth. West Marshall won the boys’ title with 132 points, East Marshall was second with 115 and Lynnville-Sully placed third with 89.

The Royal boys won the shuttle hurdle relay with a time of one minute, 3.59 seconds. The team of Jack McKinney, Luke Hill, Kelly Gray and Devin Reed easily beat Lynnville-Sully by 3.7 seconds for first.

The Colo-NESCO boys’ distance medley team of Ethan Wilson, Gray, Jacob Reischauer and Chevy Dunlap won silver in 4:02.58. West Marshall won in 3:57.93.

Ryan Wonders, Wilson, Brighton Clatt and Andrew Tschantz gave Colo-NESCO a bronze in the 4 X 800-meter relay. They finished in 9:28.66 to come in behind Baxter’s 8:47.53 and East Marshall’s 8:54.58.

The Royal 4 X 400 team of Wilson, Hill, Clatt and Reischauer just missed a medal with a fourth-place time of 3:50.76. Baxter won in 3:45.72, West Marshall was second in 3:46.72 and Lynnville-Sully just beat out Colo-NESCO for third with a 3:49.13 showing.

Individually, Reed and Gray went second and third in the 110 high hurdles with respective times of :15.87 and :17.62. Lynnville-Sully’s Gage Vander Leest edged Reed for first with a :15.73 showing.

Wonders won bronze in the 1,600 after completing the race in 5:19.39. East Marshall’s Cam Hungerford won in 4:59.12 and West Marshall’s Nick Thompson just beat out Wonders for second with a time of 5:14.58.

McKinney added a bronze in the high jump and Tanner Ingle finished fourth for the Royals. Both individuals jumped five feet, four inches.

West Marshall’s Chase Gratopp won the boys’ high jump with a 5-6 effort and Baxter’s Ben Huff took second after jumping 5-4 in fewer attempts than McKinney and Ingle.

McKinney also just missed out on a medal in the long jump. He recorded a distance of 18-10.75 to take fourth behind the 20-3.75 by East Marshall’s Gage Hulin, 19-2.5 by the Mustangs’ Korbin Seth and 18-11 by Iowa Valley’s Joe Zuber.

In the girls’ competition, Colo-NESCO scored 11 points to place eighth. BCLUW won the girls’ team title with 150 points and West Marshall was second with 142.

The Royal girls picked up points in two relays and two field events.

The Colo-NESCO girls’ 4 X 100 team of Faith Vincent, Jane Caltrider, Emma Wilson and McKenzie Niemeyer took fourth in :58.41. Pleasantville won in :53.53, BCLUW was second in :54.30 and Lynnville-Sully clocked in at :54.76 to place third.

The same quartet also took fourth in the 4 X 200 for Colo-NESCO with a time of 2:02.79. Pleasantville won in 1:52.93, BCLUW ran a 1:59.86 to finish second and Lynnville-Sully ran a 2:00.70 to end up third.

Colo-NESCO’s Megan Carlson finished fifth in the girls’ discus with a throw of 91-0. West Marshall’s Renae Schaper threw 107-3 to win the event.

Vincent ended up sixth in the long jump with a jump of 13-9.25. Pleasantville’s Kasey Pelzer was the event champion with a strong jump of 15-9.

Final team scores


1. BCLUW 150 points, 2. West Marshall 142, 3. Pleasantville 106, 4. Lynnville-Sully 68, 5. Baxter 48, 6. Colfax-Mingo 37, 7. Meskwaki 17, 8. Colo-NESCO 11.


1. West Marshall 132, 2. East Marshall 115, 3. Lynnville-Sully 89, 4. Baxter 73, 5. Colo-NESCO 72, 6. BGM 49, 7. Iowa Valley 34, 8. Meskwaki 15.