Andrew Saunders and Kody Kruschwitz were rewarded for record-breaking seasons with the Nevada football team by being named all-state by the Iowa Print Sports Writers Association in 2018.

Saunders was named to the IPSWA second team in Class 2A at receiver. He set Nevada single-season records for receptions (80), receiving yards (982) and receiving touchdowns.

Saunders led all of 2A in receptions, was fifth in receiving yards and tied for eighth in receiving touchdowns. His season was so exceptional that he became Nevada’s career leader in receiving yards, despite not catching a pass until his senior year.

Kruschwitz was named to the 2A third team as a punter. He averaged 44.4 yards on 21 punts to break the Nevada single-season record for punting average of 44.2 set by former Iowa punter Eric Guthrie.

The 2A first-team offense was made up of: Prairie City-Monroe’s Reed Worth, Jace Smith and Wes Cummings; Algona’s Wyatt Wegener; Odebolt-Arthur/Battle Creek-Ida Grove’s Cooper DeJean; Sheldon’s Tyler Lode; Greene County’s Tyler Miller; New Hampton’s Noah Fenske; West Marshall’s Luke Pinnick; Des Moines Christian’s Danny Mabe; Clear Lake’s Ryan Thomas and Jaylen DeVries; Williamsburg’s Gage Hazen-Fabor; Southeast Valley’s Kyle Fisher and Benton’s Blake Osborn.

The 2A first-team defense consisted of: PCM’s Seth Greiner; Greene County’s Bryce Hoyle; Algona’s Cole Lewis; West Liberty’s Spencer Daufeldt and Will Esmoli; Roland-Story’s Nathan Bell and Colby Gray; Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley’s Brayton Van Kekerix; Chariton’s Dylan Cain; Monticello’s Tony Wallerich; Columbus Catholic’s Kaden Ludwig; Benton’s Nathan Michaels and East Werner; Clear Lake’s Jack Barragy and Des Moines Christian’s Cade Thiner.

Cummings was named captain of the 2A all-state teams. He rushed for 1,713 yards and 24 touchdowns on 7.5 yards per carry to help lead PCM to the state championship with a perfect 13-0 record.