After finishing in a three-way tie for third in the Heart of Iowa Conference, the Nevada boys’ basketball team had four players named all-conference for the 2017-18 season.

Seniors Trent Stahl, Luke Merfeld, Om’Unique Wilkerson and Jack Higgins were all recognized by the HOIC coaches after helping the Cubs go 8-6 in the HOIC. Greene County and Gilbert also finished 8-6, Prairie City-Monroe took second with an 11-3 mark and South Hamilton won the conference after posting a perfect 14-0 record.

Stahl was named to the all-HOIC first team.

Stahl averaged 16.4 points, 3.3 assists, 2.8 rebounds and 2.5 steals in 13 conference games. He shot 46.5 percent from the field, 81.6 percent from the line and 41.4 percent from 3-point range, connecting on 24 shots from beyond the arc.

The other all-HOIC first-team picks included South Hamilton’s Marco Balderas and Conner Hill, North Polk’s Caleb Lomica, Prairie City-Monroe’s Andrew Van Ryswyk and Jackson Thomas, Gilbert’s Will Turner and Greene County’s Trey Hinote and Wade Adcock.

Merfeld landed on the all-HOIC second team.

In 13 HOIC games, Merfeld averaged 9.4 points, 6.7 rebounds, 1.5 blocks and 1.2 assists. He shot 48.4 percent from the field and 66.7 percent from the line.

The rest of the all-HOIC second team was made up of South Hamilton’s Cole Berg and Logan Peters, North Polk’s Colten Parkins; PCM’s Reed Worth, Gilbert’s Matt Barragy, Greene County’s Lance Hughes, Roland-Story’s Carter Greenfield and Saydel’s Zach Bobenhouse.

Wilkerson and Higgins were both named all-HOIC honorable mention.

Wilkerson produced 9.4 points, 6.1 rebounds, 2.2 assists and 1.7 steals per conference game and shot 44.2 percent from the field. Higgins tallied 6.8 ponts, 5.8 rebounds, 2.2 assists, 1.8 steals and 1.6 blocks per conference game and shot 49.3 percent from the field.

All-HOIC boys’ basketball teams

First team: Conner Hill (Jr.), South Hamilton; Andrew Van Ryswyk (Jr.), PCM; Will Turner (Jr.), Gilbert; Trent Stahl (Sr.), Nevada; Marco Balderas (Sr.), South Hamilton; Trey Hinote (Jr.), Greene County; Wade Adcock (Sr.), Greene County; Caleb Lomica (Jr.), North Polk; Jackson Thomas (Sr.), PCM.

Second team: Matt Barragy (Jr.), Gilbert; Luke Merfeld (Sr.), Nevada; Cole Berg (Jr.), South Hamilton; Logan Peters (Jr.), South Hamilton; Carter Greenfield (Jr.), Roland-Story; Reed Worth (Jr.), PCM; Zach Bobenhouse (Jr.), Saydel; Lance Hughes (Jr.), Greene County; Colten Parkins (Jr.), North Polk.

Honorable mention: Logan Klemp (Sr.), South Hamilton; Cade Balvanz (So.), South Hamilton; Elijah Sperfslage (Sr.), PCM; Noah Lanphier (Sr.), South Hamilton; Joe Towers (Sr.), Greene County; Ben Bravard (Sr.), Greene County; Garrison Holck (Sr.), Gilbert; Tommy Doyle (Sr.), Greene County; Om’Unique Wilkerson (Sr.), Nevada; Jack Higgins (Sr.), Nevada; Braden Hoksbergen (Jr.), North Polk; Cameron Markert (Jr.), North Polk; Kade Faga (Jr.), Roland-Story; Austin Hobbs (Sr.), Roland-Story; Colton Myers (Jr.), Saydel; Cash Lee (Jr.), Saydel.

Final HOIC standings

South Hamilton 14-0

PCM 11-3

Nevada 8-6

Gilbert 8-6

Greene County 8-6

North Polk 3-11

Roland-Story 3-11

Saydel 1-13