May is School Board Recognition Month, sponsored by the Iowa Association of School Boards to celebrate the contributions of board members to Iowa public education. The Nevada Community School is celebrating our school board superheroes for their heroic work serving our students and our school.

“While our board members are elected to the position by the community, they serve unpaid. They’re volunteers who are true superheroes—they spend a significant amount of time at regular monthly meetings, reviewing board materials, communicating with citizens, taking advantage of board learning opportunities, and attending school functions and activities,” said Dr. Steve Gray, Superintendent.

The Nevada Community School Board is charged with governing our school district. They set the direction for the district, oversee the budget, develop policies and make decisions that impact the entire community. And most importantly—they are committed to student achievement.

“Our school board keeps the district moving forward. They serve 1,500 students and 260 employees, and are responsible for an annual budget of $25,000,000. It’s a big job for no pay, but our board members say they serve to meet the needs of our students and our community,” said Dr. Gray.

The superheroes serving the Nevada Community School and their years of service are Tori Carsrud, President, six years; Tom Maier, Vice President, eight years; Mark Crawford, two years; Leanne Harter, two years; and Joe Anderson, two years.