Four members of the Nevada softball team were given all-Heart of Iowa Conference recognition after taking the Cubs from two conference wins a year ago to four in 2014.

Outfielders Kelsey Haley and Erica Helton were both named to the all-HOIC second team from Nevada. Cub pitcher Alex Van Dam and first baseman Ellie Burlage were named all-HOIC honorable mention.

Haley hit .410 in conference play with two triples, eight runs, nine RBI and three steals as Nevada’s leadoff hitter. Haley also made 24 putouts and one assist without any errors in the outfield during conference games.

Helton emerged as Nevada’s top power hitter.

The freshman hit .458 with a .646 slugging average, six doubles and one home run in conference play. She also drove in 10 runs and scored six and added 27 putouts and one assist against two errors in the field.

Van Dam posted a 4.55 earned-run average with 51 strikeouts and 33 walks in 120 innings during conference play. The senior picked up all four HOIC victories for Nevada.

Burlage hit .269 with six runs and three RBI in HOIC play as a freshman. She also made 52 putouts and four assists with only three errors in the field.

PCM won the HOIC title with a 16-2 record. Mustang pitcher Rachel Freland, catcher Abbi Gilson and infielder Jayci Vos were joined on the all-HOIC first team by: Greene County pitcher Marissa Promes, infielder Emily Christensen and outfielder Kayla Mobley; North Polk catcher Makayla Burt and infielder Rebecca Rimathe, South Hamilton outfielder Carly Swenson, Saydel outfielder Liz Miklus, Collins-Maxwell-Baxter infielder Abbie Haupert and Colfax-Mingo utility pick Amy Russell.

Gilson and Miklus were the only unanimous choices.

All-HOIC softball teams

First team: P - Rachel Freland (Jr.), PCM; Marissa Promes (Jr.), Greene County. C - Makayla Burt (Jr.), North Polk; Abbi Gilson (Sr.)*, PCM. IF - Jayci Vos (Fr.), PCM; Emily Christensen (Jr.), Greene County; Rebecca Rimathe (Fr.), North Polk; Abbie Haupert (Sr.), CMB. OF - Kayla Mobley (Jr.), Greene County; Carly Swenson (Jr.), South Hamilton; Liz Miklus (Jr.)*, Saydel. UTIL - Amy Russell (Fr.), Colfax-Mingo.

Second team: P - Kayla Jennings (Fr.), PCM; Ady Wintermote (Fr.), South Hamilton; Erin Nuetzman (Sr.), Roland-Story. C - ALyssa Hegland (So.), South Hamilton; Elise Powers (Jr.), Gilbert. IF - Carleigh Paup (So.), Greene County; Jennafer Uitermarkt (Sr.), PCM; Claire Isenhart (Sr.), Gilbert; Sydney Berends (Sr.), Roland-Story. OF - Kayla Lucas (Jr.), South Hamilton; Kelsey Haley (Sr.), Nevada; Erica Helton (Fr.), Nevada. UTIL - Hannah Onken (Jr.), Greene County.

Honorable mention: Olivia Patterson (Fr.), North Polk; Cali Koeneke (Sr.), Gilbert; Serine Isenhart (Sr.), Gilbert; Cassie Shadlow (Sr.), Roland-Story; Brooke Staker (Sr.), Roland-Story; Lilly Lomica (Jr.), North Polk; Alex Van Dam (Sr.), Nevada; Ellie Burlage (Fr.), Nevada; Kali Lucas (Jr.), South Hamilton; Mackenzie Busch (Jr.), South Hamilton; Taylor Steinkamp (Jr.), Saydel; Annika Hofbauer (Jr.), Saydel; Sydney Koch (So.), Greene County; Emma Saddoris (Jr.), Greene County; Katie VandeWall (Fr.), PCM; Makenna Van Veen (Jr.), PCM; Mackenzie Schmitz (Jr.), CMB; Megan Ritter (Fr.), CMB; Jade Lewis (Sr.), Colfax-Mingo; Jena Teed (Sr.), Colfax-Mingo.

*Denotes unanimous selection

Final HOIC standings

PCM 16-2

Greene County 15-3

South Hamilton 11-6

Colfax-Mingo 10-8

CMB 9-8

North Polk 7-11

Roland-Story 7-11

Saydel 7-11

Nevada 4-14

Gilbert 3-15