The Nevada football team totaled 12 all-Class 2A District 7 selections in 2013 after finishing fourth in the district and making its second playoff appearance in a row.

The Cubs put five players on the first team. They also had six make the second team – including one player picked in two different spots.

Making the 2A District 7 first team for Nevada were offensive linemen Jake Kapustka, Alex Merfeld and Aaron McCarville, running back Chase Dobson and linebacker Patrick Stephenson.

The rest of the first team offense consisted of: Offensive lineman Chris Sjoblom, running back and Devin Chesler, place kicker Rafael Rodriguez and running back/special teams selection Duncan Ferch from West Marshall; offensive lineman Logan Messenbrink and tight end Chase Whetstone from Gilbert; offensive lineman Jamaal Hansen, wide receiver Russell Greene and quarterback Cole Jackson from North Polk; offensive lineman Nick Ahrens and utility pick Josiah Soderstrum from Roland-Story and receiver Bobby Hatton from South Hardin.

The first team defense also featured: Dale Hilleman, William Ohrt, Matt Van Metre, Jared Johnson and Elijah Streeter from West Marshall; Jared Gescheidler, Wyatt Rhoads and Brady Kline from Gilbert, Collin Hoshaw, Jon Lackore and Braedon Ingersoll from North Polk, Zach Hovick from Roland-Story and Chandler Hallett from South Hardin.

Kapustka, Merfeld and McCarville helped Nevada average 27.7 points and 352.7 yards per game in district play. Dobson ran for an incredible 1,195 yards – an average of 199.2 per game – and 13 touchdowns on an average of 8.2 yards per carry against district competition as the main workhorse for the Cub attack.

Stephenson was the anchor for the Cub defense. He tallied 51 tackles, three tackles for loss, two interception and a fumble recovery for a touchdown in district play.

Making the 2A District 7 second team from Nevada were Erik Fevold, T.J. Fey, Kyle Chaska, Riley Huhn and Traye Pelzer.

Fevold was chosen both at kicker and as a defensive back. He made 17 of 20 extra points, plus a 26-yard field goal, and tallied 41 tackles against district foes.

Fey was Nevada’s top receiver after hauling in 10 receptions for 178 yards and three touchdowns in 2A District 7 games. Chaska had 11 tackles and one sack on the defensive line and Huhn and Pelzer delivered respective tackle totals of 44 and 31 at linebacker against district competition.

Nevada had one player named all-district honorable mention in senior Kyle Coogler. Coogler had four tackles on the season.

Ferch was named the 2A District 7 Offensive MVP and Gescheidler was tabbed the Defensive MVP. Ferch ran for 1,084 yards and 10 touchdowns on an average of 10.2 yards per carry and Gescheidler racked up 61 tackles and returned one interception for a touchdown in district play.

West Marshall’s Ken Winkler and North Polk’s Evan Groepper were named co-coach of the year winners in the district after their teams, along with Gilbert, finished in a three-way tie for first.

All-Class 2A District 7 football teams

First team

Offense: OL – Logan Messenbrink (Sr.), Gilbert; Jake Kapustka (Jr.), Nevada; Alex Merfeld (Sr.), Nevada; Jamaal Hansen (Sr.), North Polk; Nick Ahrens (Sr.), Roland-Story; Chris Sjoblom (Jr.), West Marshall. TE – Chase Whetstone (Sr.), Gilbert. WR – Russell Greene (Sr.), North Polk, Bobby Hatton (Jr.), South Hardin. QB – Cole Jackson (Sr.), North Polk. RB – Chase Dobson (Jr.), Nevada; Duncan Ferch (Sr.), West Marshall; Devin Chesler (Sr.), West Marshall. UTIL – Aaron McCarville (Sr.), Nevada; Josiah Soderstrum (Jr.), Roland-Story. PK – Rafael Rodriguez (Sr.), West Marshall. ST – Ferch (Sr.), West Marshall.

Defense: DL – Collin Hoshaw (Sr.), North Polk; Glendon Mesch (Jr.), South Hardin; Dale Hilleman (Jr.), West Marshall; William Ohrt (Sr.), West Marshall. LB – Jared Gescheidler (Jr.), Gilbert; Patrick Stephenson (Sr.), Nevada; Jon Lackore (Sr.), North Polk; Chandler Hallett (Sr.), South Hardin; Matt Van Metre (Sr.), West Marshall; Jared Johnson (So.), West Marshall. DB – Wyatt Rhoads (Jr.), Gilbert; Braedon Ingersoll (Sr.), North Polk; Zach Hovick (Sr.), Roland-Story; Elijah Streeter (Sr.), West Marshall. UTIL – Brady Kline (Sr.), Gilbert. P – Hilleman (Jr.), West Marshall.

Second team

Offense: OL – Mitchell Daharsh (Jr.), Gilbert; Trevor Long (Sr.), East Marshall; Ben Bruggeman (Sr.), North Polk; Ryan Polich (Jr.), North Polk; Dustin Platte (Sr.), South Hardin; Alex Schaper (So.), West Marshall. TE – Nolan Sinning (Sr.), West Marshall. WR – T.J. Fey (Sr.), Nevada; David Shindelar (Jr.), South Hardin. QB – Sam Shindelar (Jr.), South Hardin. RB – Zach Becker (So.), Gilbert; Zach Rubenbauer (Jr.), East Marshall; Garrett Moeckly (Sr.), North Polk. UTIL – Kelly Pierce (Jr.), Gilbert; Blake Morgan (Sr.), Roland-Story. PK – Erik Fevold (So.), Nevada. ST – Morgan (Sr.), Roland-Story.

Defense: DL – Kyle Chaska (Sr.), Nevada; Blake Brauer (Jr.), North Polk; Ben Crisman (Sr.), Roland-Story. LB – Mason Bulman (Jr.), Gilbert; Traye Pelzer (Jr.), Nevada; Riley Huhn (Sr.), Nevada; Kris Bower (Sr.), North Polk; Austin Williams (Jr.), North Polk; Cole Birchmier (Sr.), Roland-Story; Jordan Wilkie (So.), South Hardin. DB – Nate Debont (Jr.), East Marshall; Fevold (So.), Nevada; Eric Mulder (Jr.), South Hardin; Nick Juel (Jr.), West Marshall. UTIL – Landon Schuessler (Sr.), North Polk. P – Dax Hatfield (Jr.), Gilbert.

Honorable mention: Noah Bartmess, Roland-Story; Jerod Bowman, East Marshall; Justin Case, East Marshall; Kyle Coogler, Nevada; Matt Cox, North Polk; Cole Drzcymski, Gilbert; Carsen Dunn, West Marshall, Hunter Edgerton, South Hardin; Trent Elliott, Roland-Story; Ryan Hadaway, Roland-Story; Cody Haley, South Hardin; Ben Hinners, Gilbert; James Howell, Gilbert; T.J. Krehbiel, North Polk; Bridger Lawrence, South Hardin; Nick Long, East Marshall; Eric Newton, West Marshall, Darin Rinehart, Gilbert; Grant Schiltz, North Polk; Alex Stowe South Hardin; Ben Westendorf, South Hardin; Bryan Zeisness, South Hardin.

2A District 7 Coach of the Year: Ken Winkler, West Marshall and Evan Groepper, North Polk.

Offensive MVP: Duncan Ferch, West Marshall.

Defensive MVP: Jared Gescheidler, Gilbert.

Final 2A District 7 standings

Gilbert 5-1

West Marshall 5-1

North Polk 5-1

Nevada 3-3

Roland-Story 2-4

South Hardin 1-5

East Marshall 0-6