GRIMES – The Nevada wrestling team placed six wrestlers at the Mustang Invitational Saturday in Grimes.

The Cubs had two wrestlers place fourth and one finish second, fifth, sixth and eighth respectively, finishing with 80 points to take eighth out of 14 scored teams. Creston-Orient Macksburg edged Webster City for the team title with 214.5 points to the Lynx’ 207.5.

Evan Rix was the top individual performer for Nevada. Rix nabbed the silver medal at 113 pounds after going 3-1.

Rix topped Ankeny’s Trevor Rouse by sudden victory via a fall at the seven-minute, 34-second mark for his first win. He took Grinnell’s Kaiden Gosselink by technical fall, 20-4, during the quarter finals and then topped North Polk’s Chase Erickson by a 13-1 major decision in the semifinals.

In the championship round Rix suffered a close 6-4 loss to Carlisle’s Brady Kyner.

Erik Tanner took fourth at 126 with 1-2 record. Tanner’s lone victory on the mat was a 9-2 decision over Grinnell’s Kyle Sadler in the quarterfinals.

Peyton Sharp came in fourth for the Cubs at 138 with a 2-2 record. Sharp pinned Dallas Center-Grimes’ Zac Ross in 1:50 and Panorama’s Tyler VanHouten in 5:38 during his first two matches, and then he suffered losses to ADM’s Trevor Harsh and Carroll’s Sam Kastle.

Traye Pelzer split his only two matches on the mat at 145 to come in fifth for Nevada. Pelzer pinned ADM’s Caleb Weddle in 1:20 during the fifth-place match.

Wayne Beard went 2-2 at 106 for Nevada as he placed sixth. Beard scored a 16-0 technical fall win over Panorama’s George Appleseth in the consolation second round and he picked up a 19-6 major decision win against I-35’s Nathan Phillips in the consolation semifinals.

Cody Harrelson had a busy day at 170. Harrelson wrestled five matches and went 2-3 to place eighth.

Harrelson’s victories were a pin over Des Moines East’s Fathi Yussuf in 3:09 and Carroll’s Dylan Bradley in 2:25.

Final team scores: 1. Creston-Orient Macksburg 214.5 points, 2. Webster City 207.5, 3. DCG 187.5, 4. Grinnell 164, 5. West Marshall 151, 6. Ankeny Centennial 98, 7. ADM 88, 8. Nevada 80, 9. I-35 79, 10. (tie) Carroll and Panorama 76, 12. Carlisle 64, 13. North Polk 61, 14. Des Moines East 50.

Individual places – Nevada

106 pounds – 6. Wayne Beard, 2-2; 113 – 2. Evan Rix, 3-1; 126 – 4. Erik Tanner, 1-2; 138 – 4. Peyton Sharp, 2-2; 145 – 5. Traye Pelzer, 1-1; 152 – Lucas Schneider, 0-2; 170 – 8. Cody Harrelson, 2-3; 182 – Alex Peebles, 0-2.

NEVADA – Nevada opened the season with a Heart of Iowa Conference dual victory over Collins-Maxwell-Baxter Thursday at the Nevada High School Field House.

Nevada toppled CMB by a score of 48-24. The Cubs earned four falls as a team and they also benefited from three forfeits.

"I thought our kids who don’t have a whole lot of experience looked good," Nevada head coach Hesston Johnson said. "I thought we competed hard and we had good leadership from the upper class."

The biggest victory for Nevada came at 113 pounds. Evan Rix edged CMB’s Jake Hennick by a 5-2 decision in a battle between two of the top returning wrestlers for each team.

"It was a great way to kick the season off for Evan," Johnson said. "He’s been working really hard in the room."

Cody Harrelson (170 pounds), Alex Peebles (182), Erik Tanner (126) and Peyton Sharp (138) were the Cubs to earn a victory by fall. Harrelson pinned CMB’s Shane White in one minute, 19 seconds, Peebles prevailed in 3:55 over Logan Cory, Tanner stuck CMB’s Beau Iske in 2:43 and Sharp disposed of Even Bianchi in 58 seconds.

Traye Pelzer added a victory via a 5-1 decision over Frank Mittlestadt at 145 for the final Cub triumph. Cody Weier (152), Trice Logsden (195) and Wayne Beard (106) each received a forfeit for Nevada.

Jordan Coughenour and Bailey Holgate were the only two CMB grapplers to earn a victory on the mat. Coughenour pinned Nevada’s Lucas Schneider in 2:28 at 160 and Holgate stuck the Cubs’ Evan Webb in 3:08 at 132.

Archer McFadden (220) and Dawson Dahlke (285) each picked up a forfeit for the Raiders.

Nevada 48, CMB 24

152 pounds – Cody Weier (N) won by forfeit; 160 – Jordan Coughenour (CMB) won by fall over Lucas Schneider (CMB), 2:28; 170 – Cody Harrelson (N) won by fall over Shane White (CMB), 1:19; 182 – Alex Peebles (N) won by fall over Logan Cory (CMB), 3:55; 195 – Trice Logsden (N) won by forfeit; 220 – Archer McFadden (CMB) won by forfeit; 285 – Dawson Dahlke (CMB) won by forfeit; 106 – Wayne Beard (N) won by forfeit; 113 – Evan Rix (N) won by decision over Jake Hennick (CMB), 5-2; 120 – Double forfeit; 126 – Erik Tanner (N) won by fall over Beau Iske (CMB), 2:43; 132 – Bailey Holgate (CMB) won by fall over Evan Webb (N), 3:08; 138 – Peyton Sharp (N) won by fall over Even Bianchi (CMB), 0:58; 145 – Traye Pelzer (N) won by decision over Frank Mittlestadt (CMB), 5-1.