Two members of the Nevada volleyball team were chosen to the all-Heart of Iowa Conference first team in 2017.

Nevada totaled five all-conference picks after finishing third in the conference with a 5-2 record. Sophomore Kacie Rewerts and senior Hattie Rhodes were named to the first team, junior Amanda Fortmann was picked to the second team and junior Kelby Rewerts and sophomore Morgan Tupper were named honorable mention.

Kacie Rewerts totaled 69 kills, 68 digs, 18 aces and 17 blocks in conference play. Rhodes finished with 54 kills, 20 digs, 16 blocks and 14 aces.

The other first-team selections were: Gilbert’s Inga Rotto, Bree Richard and Megan Goodhue; North Polk’s Nora Aschoff; Roland-Story’s MaKayla Geise; South Hamilton’s Anna Moss and Greene County’s Megan Durbin.

Fortmann ended HOIC play with 202 assists, 41 digs, 13 kills, seven aces and four blocks. The rest of the second team was made up of: Gilbert’s Jamie Brenner and Thea Rotto; Roland-Story’s Hailey Louw and Jenna Clark; North Polk’s Carolyn Steffen and Grace Nelson; South Hamilton’s Taylor Volkmann and Prairie City-Monroe’s Maddie Samson.

Kelby Rewerts delivered 37 kills, 25 digs, 10 aces, three blocks and two assists in conference matches. Tupper finished with 103 digs, 11 kills, 10 assists and eight aces.

Gilbert ended Nevada’s five-year run atop the HOIC and the Tigers had seven all-HOIC picks, including three players named to the first team. Roland-Story and North Polk each joined Nevada with five players named all-conference.

All-HOIC volleyball teams

First team: Inga Rotto (Sr.), Gilbert; Bree Richard (Sr.), Gilbert; Megan Goodhue (Sr.), Gilbert; Kacie Rewerts (So.), Nevada; Hattie Rhodes (Sr.), Nevada; Nora Aschoff (Jr.), North Polk; MaKayla Geise (Jr.), Roland-Story; Anna Moss (Sr.), South Hamilton; Megan Durbin (Sr.), Greene County.

Second team: Jamie Brenner (Sr.), Gilbert; Thea Rotto (Fr.), Gilbert; Hailey Louw (Sr.), Roland-Story; Jenna Clark (Sr.), Roland-Story; Amanda Fortmann (Jr.), Nevada; Carolyn Steffen (Jr.), North Polk; Grace Nelson (Sr.), North Polk; Taylor Volkmann (Jr.), South Hamilton; Maddie Samson (Jr.), PCM.

Honorable mention: Sidney Ayers (Sr.), Gilbert; Sarah Hinners (Sr.), Gilbert; Madison Friest (Sr.), Roland-Story; Juliann Clark (So.), Roland-Story; Kelby Rewerts (Jr.), Nevada; Morgan Tupper (So.), Nevada; Danielle Bonewitz (Sr.), North Polk; Katie Scott (Jr.), North Polk; Taylor Ratzke (Sr.), South Hamilton; Chloe Berkema (Sr.), South Hamilton; Chantel Flack (Sr.), Greene County; Samantha Hardaway (Sr,), Greene County; Olivia Lippman (Sr.), PCM; Avery Stock (Jr.), PCM; Katie Schmidt (Sr.), Saydel; Destiney Butters (Jr.), Saydel.

Final HOIC standings

Gilbert 7-0

Roland-Story 6-1

Nevada 5-2

North Polk 4-3

South Hamilton 3-4

Greene County 2-5

PCM 1-6

Saydel 0-7