Two members of the Nevada softball team were named all-Heart of Iowa Conference honorable mention by the conference coaches in 2017.

Junior Grace Francis and eighth-grader Addi Vorm were both selected as all-conference picks from Nevada.

Francis hit .321 with a .426 on-base percentage, .512 slugging average, four doubles, one home run, six runs and six RBI in conference play. Francis played multiple positions on defense, recording 44 putouts and six assists.

Vorm hit .333 with a .364 OBP, .429 SA, four doubles, five runs and five RBI against HOIC competition. In the field, she made 24 putouts and 13 assists.

The all-HOIC first-team picks were: Collins-Maxwell-Baxter’s Mikayla Houge, Mikayla Eslinger and Abbey Kahler; Prairie City-Monroe’s Kayla Jennings, Jayci Vos and Abby Waddell; North Polk’s Rebecca Rimathe and Carolyn Steffen; Roland-Story’s Hailey Louw and Jenna Clark, Saydel’s Lyndsay Bianchi and South Hamilton’s Ady Wintermote and Alyssa Moss.

Making up the all-HOIC second team were: CMB’s Megan Ritter and Hannah Caple; PCM’s Courtney Bridges and Katie Vande Wall; North Polk’s Sophie Swygman and Ellie Owen; South Hamilton’s Taylor Volkmann; Roland-Story’s Susie Weaver and Sydney Mathis; Greene County’s Hannah Promes and Megan Carey and Gilbert’s Riley Nelson.

All-HOIC softball teams

First team: P - Mikayla Houge (Fr.), CMB; Kayla Jennings (Sr.), PCM. C - Hailey Louw (Jr.), Roland-Story; Lyndsay Bianchi (Sr.), Saydel. IF - Jayci Vos (Sr.), PCM; Ady Wintermote (Sr.), South Hamilton; Mikayla Eslinger (Sr.), CMB; Carolyn Steffen (So.), North Polk. OF - Alissa Moss (Sr.), South Hamilton; Jenna Clark (Jr.), Roland-Story; Rebecca Rimathe (Sr.), North Polk. UTIL - Abbey Kahler (Sr.), CMB; Abby Waddell (Sr.), PCM.

Second team: P - Sophie Swygman (So.), North Polk; Taylor Volkmann (So.), South Hamilton. C - Hannah Caple (So.), CMB; Courtney Bridges (Sr.), PCM. IF - Susie Weaver (So.), Roland-Story; Katie Vande Wall (Sr.), PCM; Riley Nelson (So.), Gilbert; Ellie Owen (Fr.), North Polk. OF - Megan Carey (So.), Greene County; Megan Ritter (Sr.), CMB: Anneliese Barton (Sr.), Saydel. UTIL - Sydney Mathis (Jr.), Roland-Story; Hannah Promes (Sr.), Greene County.

Honorable mention: Cora Spainhower (Sr.), Roland-Story; Juliann Clark (Fr.), Roland-Story; Shelby Weber (Sr.), Saydel; Alexis Carney (Jr.), Saydel; Marla Grubb (Jr.), South Hamilton; Brianne Diersen (So.), South Hamilton; Holly Jessen (Fr.), CMB; Katie Camp (Jr.), CMB; Grace Francis (Jr.), Nevada; Addi Vorm (8th grade), Nevada; Sydney Grouwinkel (Jr.), Gilbert; Jordyn Pike (8th grade), Gilbert; Maddy Hill (Sr.), North Polk; Trisha Sporra (Fr.), North Polk; Jenna Beyers (So.), Greene County; Megan Durbin (Jr.), Greene County; Brooke Nicholsen (Sr.), PCM; Madison Foster (Jr.), PCM.

Final HOIC standings

CMB 14-1

PCM 12-4

North Polk 11-4

South Hamilton 9-5

Roland-Story 7-8

Saydel 7-8

Greene County 5-10

Gilbert 1-13

Nevada 1-14