Colo-Nesco was rewarded with five all-Iowa Star Conference picks in softball after a runner-up finish in the conference during the 2017 campaign.

Seniors Grace Stalzer and Kassie Robinson, juniors Mackenna Ruffcorn and Chelsea Henze and freshman Rylee Purvis were all honored after helping the Royals go 13-5 in the conference. The second-place showing was Colo-Nesco’s best in a conference since 1996.

Stalzer was named to the all-ISC first team. She was joined on the first team by: Clarksville’s Kori Wedeking, Cheyenne Behrends and Bailey Myers; Janesville’s Kennedy Meister, Lily Liekweg and Morgan Charley; North Tama’s Karissa Calderwood and Tessa Dvorak; Don Bosco’s Kindra Welter and Maddy Siems; Tripoli’s Emily Cheever; Dunkerton’s Mady Howland; GMG’s Madi Krull and CAL’s Stephine Thielen.

Wedeking was the only unanimous pick to the first team.

Stalzer hit .360 with a .475 on-base percentage, .480 slugging average, six doubles, 26 runs and 12 RBI in conference play. She played multiple positions in the field and had 21 putouts, 19 assists and just two errors.

Ruffcorn, Henze and Purvis all made the all-ISC second team. The other second-team selections were: Clarksville’s Bethany Negen and Chloe Ross; Don Bosco’s Kylie McMahon and Ashley Grapp; Riceville’s Josie Gansen; CAL’s Bri Pals; Janesville’s Julia Meister and GMG’s Maesa Groth.

Ruffcorn was 6-2 with a 3.92 earned-run average, 43 strikeouts and 21 walks in 50 innings on the mound in conference play. She also hit .358 with a .462 OBP, .585 SA, nine doubles, one home run, 21 runs and 18 RBI.

Henze posted a .418 batting average with a .515 OBP, .636 SA, seven doubles, one triple, one home run, 14 runs and 29 RBI in conference games. At catcher, Henze threw out five base runners and had 92 putouts with only one error in the ISC.

Purvis hit .467 with a .571 OBP, .733 SA, four doubles, one triple, two homers, 27 runs and 14 RBI against conference foes. She was also 4-2 with a 3.64 ERA, 21 strikeouts and 11 walks in 32 ⅔ innings as a pitcher.

Robinson was named all-ISC honorable mention after hitting .345 with a .410 OBP, .455 SA, six doubles, nine runs and 16 RBI in the conference. She also was 3-1 with a 6.05 ERA, 16 strikeouts and 10 walks in 22 innings against ISC teams.

All-ISC softball teams

First team: Kori Wedeking (Fr.)*, Clarksville; Kennedy Meister (Jr.), Janesville; Carissa Calderwood (So.), North Tama; Kindra Welter (Jr.), Don Bosco; Lily Liekweg (So.), Janesville; Cheyenne Behrends (8th grade), Clarksville; Morgan Charley (Sr.), Janesville; Tessa Dvorak (Jr.), North Tama; Emily Cheever (Sr.), Tripoli; Grace Stalzer (Sr.), Colo-Nesco; Maddy Siems (Jr.), Don Bosco; Mady Howland (Jr.), Dunkerton; Bailey Myers (So.), Clarksville; Madi Krull (So.), GMG; Stephine Thielen (Sr.), CAL.

Second team: Mackenna Ruffcorn (Jr.), Colo-Nesco; Kylie McMahon (So.), Don Bosco; Bethany Negen (Jr.), Clarksville; Rylee Purvis (Fr.), Colo-Nesco; Josie Gansen (8th grade), Riceville; Bri Pals (Sr.), CAL; Chloe Ross (Fr.), Clarksville; Ashley Grapp (So.), Don Bosco; Julia Meister (Fr.), Janesville; Maesa Groth (So.), GMG; Chelsea Henze (Jr.), Colo-Nesco.

Honorable mention: Kaylea Rew (Sr.), CAL; Janet Borchardt (Fr.), Clarksville; McKayla Boeschen (Jr.), Dunkerton; Grace Hovenga (So.), Janesville; Abby Marr (So.), Riceville; Olivia Miller (Fr.), Tripoli; Kassie Robinson (Sr.), Colo-Nesco; Sydney Purdy (Jr.), Don Bosco; Zoe Duncan (So.), GMG; Carlee Feisel (Sr.), North Tama.

Final ISC standings

Clarksville 18-0

Colo-Nesco 13-5

Don Bosco 12-6

North Tama 12-6

Janesville 10-6

Dunkerton 7-10

Tripoli 5-12

Riceville 5-13

GMG 3-13

CAL 2-16