Eight members of the Nevada girls’ soccer team were given all-Heart of Iowa Conference recognition by the conference coaches in 2017.

Nevada put four players on the first team. Abby Stephenson, Kaylee Kruschwitz, Holly Coogler and Izzy Kapustka were Nevada players chosen.

Stephenson led Nevada with 35 goals and 11 assists as part of a team that went 14-5 and reached the Class 1A semifinals of the girls’ state soccer tournament for the sixth year in a row. Kruschwitz move from defense to midfield and had seven goals and four assists, and Coogler and Kapustka keyed a Cub defense that produced 11 shutouts.

The rest of the all-HOIC first team was made up of: North Polk’s Joy Smith, Courtney Bonewitz, Emily Larson and Danielle Bonewitz and Gilbert’s Olivia Stearns, Molly Laws, Emily Branson and Jazlyn Cornelius.

Skye Borton, Gracie Francis, Abbie Lindsey and Hattie Rhodes were the four Cubs named to the all-HOIC second team.

Borton tallied six goals and three assists in her senior year. Francis made 66 saves and only allowed 13 goals at keeper, Lindsey helped solidify Nevada’s dominant defensive back line and Rhodes was the team’s top distributor on offense, finishing with 18 assists and six goals.

The other second-team selections were: Collins-Maxwell-Baxter’s Tatum Tremain; North Polk’s Hannah Becker, Gracie Harmeyer and Katryn Halterman; Gilbert’s Hannah Thatcher, Evan Steckelberg and Erin Kimle and Prairie City-Monroe’s Caitlyn Walters; Gilbert’s Hannah Thatcher, Eva Steckelberg and Erin Kimle and Prairie City-Monroe’s Caitlyn Walters.