Colo-Nesco senior Olivia Key has been selected to participate in the 2014 Iowa High School Speech Association All-State Speech Festival. Olivia was selected as the top performer in her Interpretive Reading: Prose center at the Southwest District State Speech Competition this past Saturday in Glenwood. Her reading is from David Woodrell’s book (and 2010 film), "Winter’s Bone," about a girl who faces a number of horrific challenges to find her father and keep her family together. Olivia is the first all-state participant from Colo-Nesco in the past 20 years. Less than 1 percent of all students eligible are selected to participate in this festival. The 2014 All-State Speech Festival will be held on Monday, March 31, on the University of Northern Iowa campus.

Two Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC) students from Nevada have received scholarships from the DMACC Foundation for the spring semester, Kalieb Gillespie and Charity Kugler. Both students received a $500 General - District Wide scholarship.

Army National Guard Pvt. Blake K. Lingenfelter has graduated from basic infantry training at Fort Benning, Columbus, Ga.

During the nine weeks of training, the soldier received training in drill and ceremonies, weapons, map reading, tactics, military courtesy, military justice, physical fitness, first aid, and Army history, core values and traditions. Additional training included development of basic combat skills and battlefield operations and tactics, and experiencing use of various weapons and weapons defenses available to the infantry crewman.

Lingenfelter, a 2013 graduate of Nevada High School, is the son of William Lingenfelter and stepson of Gale Lingenfelter, both of Nevada.

Erik Paul Schaeffer of Nevada has achieved academic ranking in the top 2 percent of students in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Iowa State University. Schaeffer is a freshman at ISU.

Kiran Joy Sharma, a freshman from Nevada, has achieved academic ranking in the top 2 percent of students in the College of Human Sciences at Iowa State University.