It’s Luke Spence and Dane Nealson who will take seats for the first time on Nevada’s City Council in the Ward 2 and Ward 4 positions, respectively.

Spence, 36, an airline pilot, defeated contender Larry Sloan, a local business owner. Spence received 148 votes to Sloan’s 70 votes. There was one write-in vote in the ward.

“I am truly humbled by the results of the election tonight,” said Spence, shortly after the results were in. “It feels amazing to have such strong support from our community in helping to lead Nevada into the future. I am very excited to work with our new mayor, council, city administrator and city staff.”

Spence also gave a shout-out to his opponent. “I would also like to thank Mr. Sloan for a positive and respectful campaign. I look forward to working toward a even better Nevada for all citizens.”

In the Ward 4 race, Nealson received 116 votes. His opponents, Charlie Good and Jason Sampson, received 83 and 65 votes respectively.

Nealson, 31, a certified pharmacy technician, said Tuesday night that he was thankful to be chosen and was ready to get to work in January and begin to tackle the issues facing the community.

“I feel the results of tonight’s election are the result of hard work — I’ve enjoyed hundreds of conversations with voters over the last several months (going door to door in the ward) — as well as widespread support of the Capstone 2020 project,” said Nealson, who supports that project, which includes a new rec center in the community.

There were no surprises in Nevada when it came to the city’s new mayor.

Brett Barker did face opposition with a write-in campaign being waged by Rhonda Appelgate, but he was the only candidate on the ballot and with 91.73 percent of the vote, he secured his position as Nevada’s next mayor. He will succeed Lynn Lathrop.

“I’m humbled by the trust that Nevada has placed in me,” said Barker. “It’s a big responsibility, and I’m looking forward to working with the community to keep moving Nevada forward.”

Barker’s current at-large position on the City Council will now need to be filled, either by appointment or special election.

Also returning to an at-large council seat on the Nevada City Council is Brian Hanson, who was not opposed in this election, and received 598 votes. There were 78 write-in votes for the seat.

In Colo

Five people were running for three seats on the Colo City Council, and those seats went to Brandon Handsaker, with 66 votes; Randy Stoeffler, with 64 votes; and Benjamin Spalding, with 61 votes. Paul Conrad and Austin Fortsch received 33 and 26 votes respectively, and there were three write-in votes.

In Zearing

Martin Herr won a decisive victory to be the next Zearing mayor. Herr received 97 votes to Gerald Lee Murrell, Sr.’s 27 votes. There were two write-in votes.

In the Zearing City Council race, David J. Tisdale, Sandy Perisho and Rick L. Good won the three seats with 104, 95 and 59 votes, respectively. Also running was Timothy W. Reed, who received 52 votes. There were 25 write-in votes cast.

In McCallsburg

Alex Rainey, incumbent, will continue as mayor. He ran unopposed. Scott Anderson and LeAnn Hazen will continue serving on the City Council, and one more council person will need to be appointed, as there were only the two candidates running for three vacant seats. There were 33 write-in votes for council that will need to be counted.