• Army Reserve Col. Sheila Seitz has retired from the U.S. Army Reserve after serving honorably for 30 years. Seitz was last serving as Army deputy project director with Office of the Deputy Under Secretary of the Army, Pentagon, District of Columbia.

Seitz is the daughter of Rita Foley of Arvada, Colo., niece of Leonard Foley of Huxley, and daughter-in-law of Karl and Barbara Seitz of Lacey, Wash.

She is a 1983 graduate of Colo High School. Seitz earned a bachelor’s degree in 1988 from Iowa State University of Science and Technology.

• DMACC President Rob Denson recently released the names of students eligible for the fall semester dean’s list. To be eligible, a student must have earned a 3.5 to 3.99 GPA for that semester.

Those recognized from Nevada include: Joseph Badger, liberal arts; Elyse Burlage, liberal arts; Hannah Casey, liberal arts; Preston Cattanach, liberal arts; Matthew Chitty, liberal arts; Dustin Dalton, fluid power technology; Malia Davis, early childhood education; Michael Ernberger, liberal arts; Emma Flynn, liberal arts; Michaela Gillespie, associate general studies; Amanda Harter, liberal arts; Jeanette Klein, early childhood education; Kevin Loney, liberal arts; Philip Maixner, associate degree nursing; Leighton Memmer, liberal arts; Brody Miller, liberal arts; Katelynn Paeth, liberal arts; Tiffany Prather, medical assistant; Nathaniel Reynolds, liberal arts; Jenna Smith, photography; Abigail Stephenson, liberal arts and Abigail Vermillion, liberal arts.

• The following area students graduated from the spring semester from DMACC: Adam Coussens, production MIG welding, Nevada; Shayla Dean, liberal arts, Zearing; Emma Flynn, liberal arts, Nevada; Keegan Garrey, heating, ventilation, air conditioning & refrigeration technology, Nevada; Philip Maixner, associate degree nursing, Nevada and Alexandria VanDam, liberal arts, Nevada.

• The following area students have been named to the spring 2017 semester dean’s list at the University of Northern Iowa: Dana Ackerman, Sadie Backoff, Colynn Black, Danielle Goodnight, Chad Jamison, Baylee Milam, Amber Ramthun, Raegan Saunders, Kelli Theilen, Bennett Thompson and Abigail Tupper, all of Nevada, and Grant Tiarks of McCallsburg.

• The following students graduated from the University of Northern Iowa at the close of the spring 2017 semester:

Colo: Katelyn Tyler, B.A.. elementary education, middle level education dual major

Nevada: Zachary Anderson, B.A., leisure, youth and human services; Colynn Black, B.S., manufacturing engineering technology: manufacturing design; Amber Ramthun, B.A., communication disorders and Kortney Saunders, Master of Accounting, accounting.

• Twin sisters, Peyton L. Dugger and Sydni G. Dugger, of Nevada of Nevada have both been named to the Missouri State University Spring 2017 Dean’s List. Criteria to make the dean’s list includes enrollment in at least 12 credit hours during the spring semester and at least a 3.5 grade point average (on a 4.0 scale).

Mara Rhodes of Nevada, the daughter of Mark and Lynn Rhodes, was named to the dean’s list at Simpson College for the spring 2017 semester. Students named to the dean’s list earned a 3.70 - 3.99 GPA.