Nominations are being sought for the 13th annual Philanthropy Day Awards presented by the Story County Alliance for Philanthropy. The awards recognize individuals, families, groups and businesses throughout Story County who have exhibited outstanding financial or leadership support for any charitable cause.

Prior award winners include the 2016 Outstanding Philanthropists Bev and Warren Madden. “Our long-term affiliation with Iowa State University has given us the opportunity to see the important role that many organizations and agencies play in meeting the wide variety of needs of the increasingly diverse population,” said Warren Madden. “Whether it is education, health, life’s necessities, recreational or cultural programs, philanthropy is critical to meeting the needs of the community. There are many individuals who deserve recognition for their philanthropic support and we would encourage nominations for next year recipients.”

Award categories include: Individual/Family Philanthropist, Business/Corporate/Foundation Philanthropist, Individual Volunteer Fundraiser, Group Volunteer Fundraiser and Youth Volunteer Fundraiser. Jean Kresse, president and CEO of the United Way of Story County, commented that, “We are so proud of the giving spirit of our community and appreciate the opportunity to say thank you for helping to make things even better in our community.”

Any individual, group, business, corporation or foundation within Story County may be considered. The first step in the nomination process is to submit a short intent to nominate form, due by June 30. The form can be found online at or submitted in person at the United Way of Story County office, located at 315 Clark Ave. in Ames. Full nomination forms, which can also be found on the website or at the United Way office, are due July 31, 2017.

Award winners will be honored at the 2017 Philanthropy Day celebration, held on Nov. 16 at the Gateway Hotel and Conference Center in Ames. For more information, visit or call the United Way of Story County office at 515-268-5142.